Page 1 of 1

Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 23 Feb 2016, 20:18
by wolf
Just noticed a strange thing.
My elite Fallschirm Division got it´s abilites removed, then on my turn i promoted it to rank3.
The Redemption ability didn`t trigger and i can see why, still wondering if this is intended or not??

cheers

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 24 Feb 2016, 12:17
by nAFAI
It's working as intended,

He had the ability on it's Rank 2, if you check details you will see that on Rank 3 he doesnt have the Redemption ability (for obvious reasons) that's why it don't trigger when promoting from 2 to 3 if he has been "spied".

Hope this helps,

Cheers!

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 24 Feb 2016, 17:15
by bigfatrasta
on a related matter:

my lvl 3 gustav was spyed and naturally moved to the frontlines, but was still unable to be equipped. with the "heavy" gone, ewquipping should be possible now ....

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 24 Feb 2016, 20:58
by 5Cats
bigfatrasta wrote:on a related matter:

my lvl 3 gustav was spyed and naturally moved to the frontlines, but was still unable to be equipped. with the "heavy" gone, ewquipping should be possible now ....


That would make it more dangerous to Spy it than to leave it alone! Lolz! It should stay that way, for sure.

I can see why the Fallschirm didn't do it's ability, as it had been removed at the time it was upgraded.

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 24 Feb 2016, 21:53
by bigfatrasta
5Cats wrote:
bigfatrasta wrote:on a related matter:

my lvl 3 gustav was spyed and naturally moved to the frontlines, but was still unable to be equipped. with the "heavy" gone, ewquipping should be possible now ....

That would make it more dangerous to Spy it than to leave it alone! Lolz! It should stay that way, for sure....


Maybe but if the rules are applied as they are it should be possible to equip. Otherwise a spyed / MONTYed Gustav is not only useless, but also hard to remove, equipping him atleast gives him the chance of a minimal use.

We really need some clearity here!

Another non-working ability is the application of "confusion"
While ARMOR is applied MAchine gun is not! I do not expect Brutality to damage a "confused" unit to damage life but if the defensive abilities work so should the offenive ones....

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2016, 01:29
by 5Cats
Rasta: Play balance!
Confusion is already a powerful tool: If it caused 2x Damage from Machineguns then EVERY Machinegun using unit would be utterly destroyed, regardless of defense.

I guess the Gustav's negative 'ability' isn't removed by Spy? If it vanishes from the card that's just a graphic issue, eh?

Why is Mad Jack's ability not lowered by Armour? Arrows have more penetration than a 128mm? :o

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2016, 06:52
by RedRain
If the "super structure" ability is removed, nothing should prevent the item use. The rules should be the same for eveyone: gustav, flying submarine or any other card

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2016, 07:08
by wolf
The spy ability is tricky in general. Spied on Airplanes still get no damage from the Horten bomber for example.

Re: Redemption-Spying ability interaction

PostPosted: 25 Feb 2016, 13:06
by nAFAI
bigfatrasta wrote:on a related matter:

my lvl 3 gustav was spyed and naturally moved to the frontlines, but was still unable to be equipped. with the "heavy" gone, ewquipping should be possible now ....


That's the only unintended behaviour I have seen so far here, it will be trick as we had to do a special trick to add this requirement to the Gustav but we will see what we can do about that.

wolf wrote:The spy ability is tricky in general. Spied on Airplanes still get no damage from the Horten bomber for example.


Being an airplane is not an ability it's a card category (same as faction) that's why Spy doesn't remove that, as stated it works only on abilities.

Cheers!